Call for Paper - July 2022 Edition
IJCA solicits original research papers for the July 2022 Edition. Last date of manuscript submission is June 20, 2022. Read More

Features, Benefits, Futuristic Projections of Cloud and Inter-Cloud Extensions to the Internet

Print
PDF
IJCA Special Issue on Confluence 2012 - The Next Generation Information Technology Summit
© 2012 by IJCA Journal
CONFLUENCE - Number 1
Year of Publication: 2012
Authors:
Rana Majumdar
Satyanarayana Garimella

Rana Majumdar and Satyanarayana Garimella. Article: Features, Benefits, Futuristic Projections of Cloud and Inter-Cloud Extensions to the Internet. IJCA Special Issue on Confluence 2012 - The Next Generation Information Technology Summit CONFLUENCE(1):18-22, September 2012. Full text available. BibTeX

@article{key:article,
	author = {Rana Majumdar and Satyanarayana Garimella},
	title = {Article: Features, Benefits, Futuristic Projections of Cloud and Inter-Cloud Extensions to the Internet},
	journal = {IJCA Special Issue on Confluence 2012 - The Next Generation Information Technology Summit},
	year = {2012},
	volume = {CONFLUENCE},
	number = {1},
	pages = {18-22},
	month = {September},
	note = {Full text available}
}

Abstract

"Cloud" has become an everyday term in majority of the large scale IT enterprises. Clouds now are the new building blocks of major businesses spread around the world. They help in transporting platforms and services across the globe to support various infrastructures. The actual term "cloud" borrows from telephony in that telecommunications companies, who until the 1990s primarily offered dedicated point-to-point data circuits, began offering Virtual Private Network (VPN) services with comparable quality of service but at a much lower cost. The initial concept of clouds was spawned way back during the mid 1960s. Amazon played a key role in the development of cloud computing by modernizing their data centers after the dot-com bubble, which, like most computer networks, were using as little as 10% of their capacity at any one time just to leave room for occasional spikes. Struggles during the recession era and the developments in the post-recession era across the globe made the Cloud a revolutionary term. In this paper, we provide an overview of clouds and their features. Services provided by the clouds are discussed with primary focus on Interclouds. Also the present view of the futuristic stance of Cloud computing is analyzed and the results are provided for further study.

References

  • The Challenge of the Computer Utility by Douglas Parkhill , Addison-Wesley Educational Publishers Inc (Sep 1966).
  • The Technium: A Cloudbook for the Cloud.
  • "Future of the Internet" book series published by Cambria Press.
  • Los Angeles Computer Support & Consulting Blog on Direct Onsite (http://www. directonsite. com/blog)
  • The Three Salient Features of Cloud Computing by Tony Chung – Jan 10, 2008, The Duo Consulting Blog (http://tonychung. utilizer. com/node/673562 )
  • Cloud Computing: Both a Threat & an Opportunity, a blog by Maria Spinola ( http://blog. mariaspinola. com/ )
  • The Intercloud, a blog post by Greg Papadopoulo ( http://blogs. sun. com/Gregp/entry/the_intercloud )
  • Tension Pairs provoke detailed elaborations – a Survey Method as specified in Pew Internet (http://www. pewinternet. org/reports/2010/Future-of-Millennials/ )
  • The Future of Cloud Computing – A Study by John Ryan from the Pew Research Center & Elon University, June 14, 2010 ( http://johnryan. sys-con. com/node/1430456 )
  • Experts, Public Split on Web 3. 0 (http://www. marketingvox. com/experts-public-split-on-wen-30-046922/ )